Happy Birthday, Gorgeous!

Quick and easy card today. I know I’ve been doing nothing but cards even though my blog is supposed to be about cards and baking, but I promise I’ll post about baking this weekend! How do individual lemon meringue pies sound? Tasty? I hope you’ll come back Saturday to find out how I made them! Because I’m posting on Saturday, that means I won’t be posting tomorrow. I know. You’ll miss me terribly and the world may even wonder what happened to me. Well, maybe not that second part, but I will be back on Saturday! With food!

This stamp set is so fun to use and quite versatile. It’s called Beautiful You and has a few images of sassy ladies, like this one, as well as some really nice sentiments. When looking for inspiration for something to do with it, I came across this blog: https://www.natalieoshea.co.uk/free-stampin-handmade-card-tutorial/ While she didn’t give instructions on how to do it, I could tell right away that I could figure it out myself. That just happens after you’ve been stamping for a long time – you can see something and know how it was done. She included the Stampin’ Up! Watercolor Pencils in the picture on her blog, so I knew how she colored it. Easy peasy!

Simple stamping, just gotta watch the placement. I made sure to get my sentiment straight on my clear block using the technique I talked about earlier. I used the lines on the paper to make sure my block was straight, then carefully lowered the stamp onto the block using the lines through it to make sure the stamp was straight. Then it’s just about spacing with the little lady there.

I colored her using the Real Red pencil for her dress and hat, and I think I used Calypso Coral and the Whisper White for her skin. I wanted to add a little something more, and reached for my Wink of Stella. Wink of who now, you ask? Wink of Stella. I don’t know who Stella is, but it’s the least messy way to add glitter and sparkle I have found. I’m not a fan of glitter in any shape or form as it creates such a mess. Wink of Stella is a brush-tip pen that lets you add sparkle wherever you want and, once it dries, does not come off. Makes me so happy!

It may be hard to tell, but I gave her some sparkly polka-dots and wrote over the word “birthday” with Wink of Stella. This card is going to be sent to a very special lady who has been very kind to me ever since I moved to Canada from the States. I may not see her as much as I used to, but I still think of her and her family often. I hope she enjoys this card as much as I did making it. Now, with just a few supplies, you can make it two! Two colors of paper, one color ink, one stamp set, and you can use your own color pencils and you’ve got it. You can do it – you can make a simple, yet stunning card and be proud to give it to anyone.

https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/product/143637/beautiful-you-clear-mount-stamp-set?dbwsdemoid=2208259

https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/search/card%20stock?dbwsdemoid22-8259

https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/product/132708/tuxedo-black-memento-ink-pad?dbwsdemoid2208259


https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/product/141709/watercolor-pencils?dbwsdemoid=2208259
https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/product/141897/clear-wink-of-stella-glitter-brush?dbwsdemoid=2208259

Leave a comment